COMMUNITY ACHIEVEMENT AWARD SCHEME WORKING PARTY held at 2.30 pm at COUNCIL OFFICES LONDON ROAD SAFFRON WALDEN on 10 NOVEMBER 1999

Present:- Councillor Mrs J E Menell - Chairman Councillors E C Abrahams, Mrs C A Bayley and R W L Stone.

Officers in attendance:- S Izzard, M T Purkiss and A Stewart.

I. APOLOGIES AND DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Mrs D Cornell and D W Gregory.

Councillor E C Abrahams declared an interest in the nominations for Mr J Livings and Mrs B Abrahams and did not vote on these.

I. MINUTES

The Minutes of the meeting of the Working Party held on 11 November 1998 were received, confirmed and signed by the Chairman as a correct record.

I. NOMINATIONS FOR COMMUNITY ACHIEVEMENT AWARDS

The Working Party considered nominations which had been received from parish and town councils for Community Achievement Awards in recognition of the contributions which the individuals had made to the benefit of their local community.

Members recalled that the scheme included the following categories:-

- (a) Service to children and young people (up to age 18)
 - (b) Service to the elderly
 - (c) Service to people with disabilities
 - (d) Service to the local community and environment.

It was also noted that two nominations could be accepted from each parish council and up to four from Great Dunmow and Saffron Walden Town Councils and Stansted Parish Council.

During the course of the meeting it was reported that a telephone call had been received from Councillor R C Dean asking that consideration be given to a late nomination. However, the Working Party did not consider it appropriate to accept a further nomination at this late stage.

RECOMMENDED that the following nominations be submitted to the Amenities Sub-Committee:

Category A - Service to children and young people

Trevor Stone (Birchanger) Dennis Stapleton (Chrishall) Pearl Hutley (Little Hallingbury) Phyllis Altham (Takeley) Yvonne Winckles (Takeley)

Category B - Service to the elderly

Audrey Rodgers (Stansted)

Category C - Service to people with disabilities

Diana Mellows (Farnham)

Category D - Service to the local community and the environment

Joy Wright (Birchanger) Jack Livings (Clavering) Betty Abrahams (Clavering) Alan Starr (Elmdon) Raymond Franklin (Elsenham) Petronella Humphreys (Farnham) Patricia Croxton-Smith (Hadstock) Reverend Laurence Bond (Littlebury) (together with Dawn Bond (Littlebury)) (joint award) Marion Dyer (Stansted) Peggy Honour (Stansted) Jean McBride (Stansted) Michael Flook (Thaxted) Spencer Coe (Thaxted) Linda Bush (Wendens Ambo)

I. ARRANGEMENTS FOR THE AWARD CEREMONY

Members discussed the arrangements for the award ceremony and felt that last year's ceremony had gone extremely well and many of the procedures could be continued for this year's event. It was particularly mentioned that the photograph of the recipient with the Chairman of the Council had been well received and it was suggested that a group photograph should also be taken and displayed in the Members' Room.

It was noted that at the last ceremony some recipients had experienced some problems in ensuring that their scrolls were not damaged and after a lengthy discussion on this issue it was considered that it would be more appropriate for the certificates to be framed.

RECOMMENDED

- 1 that the Award Ceremony be held on the evening of 17 February 2000 and be followed by a buffet
 - 2 the certificates be presented in suitable frames
 - 3 subject to the approval of the Chairman of the Council, the costs of the award ceremony and certificates, estimated at £800 be met from the budget for the Chairman's allowance.

I. ACHIEVEMENT AWARD SCHEME CATEGORIES

The Working Party considered that the current four categories were still appropriate but felt that a further category could be added to encourage participation by young people. It was suggested that an additional category entitled Youth Initiative Category, be added to the scheme to allow nominations to be made by either Town or Parish Councils or District Council officers and Members in order to recognise the contributions made by young people to the benefit of their local community.

RECOMMENDED that the Community Achievement Award Scheme be amended by the addition of this category.

The meeting ended at 3.40 pm.